Skip to main content
Home2017 Legislative Session

Legislative NEWS

The 85th Regular Session of the Texas Legislature commenced on January 10, 2017.
TLMA joins a coalition of landowner associations to advocate for eminent domain reform as Texas for Property Rights. Find out more about our efforts and use the forum to share your own stories through the website at
Legislative ALERTS:

No ALERTS posted yet.

Legislation TLMA is following:
HB 129 - Craddick - Relating to the manner in which a payor of proceeds derived from the sale of oil or gas production is required to provide certain information to a royalty interest owner.
HB 247 - Anchia - Relating to the posting by the Railroad Commission of Texas on its Internet website of certain enforcement information.

HB 464 - Anchia - Relating to the acceptance of political contributions by a member of the Railroad Commission of Texas and of political contributions made in connection with the office of railroad commissioner.

HB 1597 - Bell - Relating to the recovery of stranded oil, gas, or oil and gas from depleting Cenozoic Era reservoirs. TLMA opposes this bill as a taking of private property rights.

HB 1818 - Gonzales, Larry | Raymond | Darby | Thompson, Senfronia | Flynn - Relating to the continuation and functions of the Railroad Commission of Texas; providing for the imposition of fees.

SB 177 - Taylor - Relating to unit operations for oil, gas, or oil and gas production from depleting reservoirs or carbon dioxide storage; authorizing a fee. TLMA opposes this bill as a taking of private property rights.

SB 189 - Uresti - 
Relating to notice of an application for a permit to drill certain injection wells within a certain distance of a groundwater conservation district.

SB 567 - Rodríguez - Relating to the imposition of administrative, civil, and criminal penalties for violating certain statutes under the jurisdiction of, rules or orders adopted by, or licenses, permits, or certificates issued by the Railroad Commission of Texas; increasing criminal penalties.

SB 568 - Rodríguez - Relating to the posting by the Railroad Commission of Texas on its Internet website of certain enforcement information.

SB 569 - Rodríguez - Relating to a review and report by the Railroad Commission of Texas regarding the oversight and enforcement of unpermitted discharges of oil and gas waste or of other substances or materials associated with certain operations or activities regulated by the commission.

SB 676 - Seliger - Relating to the listing of separate interests in minerals in place in ad valorem tax appraisal records.

Contacting Legislators:

Click here to find your elected officials using your address.

Texas House Committee on Energy Resources
Chair: Drew Darby
Vice Chair: Charles "Doc" Anderson
Greg Bonnen
Terry Canales
Travis Clardy
Tom Craddick
Bobby Guerra
Jason Isaac
Phil King
Stan Lambert
Brooks Landgraf
Leighton Schubert
Armando Walle
Clerk: Link Browder
Room: EXT E2.162
Phone: (512) 463-0774

Texas Senate Committee on Natural Resources & Economic Development
Chair: Craig Estes
Vice Chair: Judith Zaffirini
Konni Burton
Sylvia R. Garcia
Kelly Hancock
Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa
Don Huffines
Borris L. Miles
José Rodríguez
Kel Seliger
Van Taylor
Clerk: Paige McGhee
Room: Sam Houston Building, 325
Phone: (512) 463-0390

For links to legislative calendars and agenda items, click here.

You can find the homepage for the Texas Legislature here, or use these links for the State House and the State Senate homepages.

Past Legislative Sessions:

Click here to see information about the 2015 Legislative Session, and visit TLMA Legislative Action for a history of TLMA legislative activities since its formation.