Jennifer Bremer

From: tlma@memberclicks-mail.net on behalf of Texas Land & Mineral Owners Association

<tlma@memberclicks-mail.net>

Sent: Monday, February 3, 2025 8:51 PM

To: Jennifer Bremer

Subject: TLMA Monthly Newsletter - January 2025



January 2025 Monthly Update

TLMA Welcomes New Leadership

Following approval at the 2024 Statewide Members Meeting, the following Board of Directors began their two-year term. The next chairman-elect term will begin January 1, 2026.

Chairman Thomas H. "Tom" Daniel

Vice Chairman Lorin Runnels

Treasurer and Chairman-Elect E.O "Trey" Scott, III

John D. Alexander, Jr.

James C. "Jimmy" Broussard

Carolyn Frost Keenan

Kimberley K. McTee

Barry Coates Roberts

R. Neal Wilkins

In addition to the directors, TLMA welcomes four new district representatives.

Hillary Moore, Abilene Christina Sasser, Corpus Christi Jamey Steen, Houston Leo Welder, Austin

They join returning district representatives Clay C. Cash, Leslie el-Effendi, and Amy Stieren.



89th Legislative Session Begins

On Tuesday, January 14, after the swearing in of the members-elect of the 89th Legislature including 32 new Representatives and 3 new Senators, there are now 20 Republicans and 11 Democrats in the Senate and 88 Republicans and 62 Democrats in the House.

As mentioned in the past, the only bill that the Legislature must pass is the budget. However, there will be thousands more that progress through the legislative process.

Governor Abbott is expected to released his list of emergency items in. These items are exempt from the constitutional timelines allowing for immediate debate on both the House and Senate floors.

The pace of the session is substantially faster than it has been in years past, especially in the Senate. The Lt. Governor announced committee assignments for the Senate in the first week of the session. The House elected a new speaker (required on day 1). The House passed rules, and Speaker Burrows will announce committee assignments for the House in the coming weeks.

The first legislative deadline is the bill filing deadline Friday, March 14, the 60th day of the legislative session.

We will continue to provide updates monthly by email as well as on our 89th Legislative Session webpage.

Our first bill list is available! You can see the bills we are tracking and monitor their progress through the process. If you have questions about any bills, please email info@tlma.org.



House of Representatives Speaker Race

Following the most contentious speaker race in recent years, the House of Representatives elected Representative Dustin Burrows (R-Lubbock) as Speaker of the Texas House. He defeated Representative David Cook (R-Wichita Falls) and Representative Ana Maria Ramos (D-Richardson) in two votes.



Texas House Passes Governing Rules

At the start of each legislative session, the Texas House must pass a Housekeeping Resolution that sets the rules for how the chamber will operate for the next two years. Coming into this session, the major rule change push was to ban committee chairs that are of the minority party. After a delay due to the snow storm and a few fireworks, the House passed the Housekeeping resolution in a vote of 116 ayes, 23 nays, and 1 present not voting (Speaker Burrows).

Below are the major changes to the <u>rules</u>:

- Each chairman of a standing committee must be from the majority party. The vice chair must be of the minority party.
- Creates permanent standing subcommittees.
 These subcommittee chairmen maybe from the minority party.
- 3. Eliminates the following committees and transfers their duties to other committees:
 - a. Business and Industry
 - b. County Affairs
 - c. Defense & Veterans Affairs
 - d. International Relations and Economic Development
 - e. Resolutions Calendars Committee
 - f. Urban Affairs
- 4. Adds juvenile responsibilities to the Criminal Jurisprudence Committee.
- 5. Adds Resolutions to the Local and Consent Calendars Committee.
- 6. Transfers the jurisdiction of the Defense and Veterans Affairs Committee to Homeland Security & Public Safety committee, now called Homeland Security, Public Safety and Veterans' Affairs committee, and creates one permanent standing subcommittee on Defense and Veterans Affairs.
- 7. Creates the following committees:
 - a. Committee on the Delivery of Government Efficiency
 - b. Committee on Intergovernmental Affairs
 - i. Creates two permanent standing subcommittees: County and Regional Government and State-Federal Relations
 - c. Committee on Trade, Workforce and Economic Development
 - Creates two standing permanent subcommittees: Workforce and International Relations
- 8. Adds the following permanent standing subcommittees to their corresponding committees:
 - a. Judiciary and Civil Jurisprudence –
 Subcommittee on Family and Fiduciary
 Relationships

- b. Public Education Subcommittee on Academic and Career-Oriented Education
- c. Public Health Subcommittees on Disease Prevention and Women's and Children's Health
- d. State Affairs Subcommittee on Telecommunications and Broadband
- e. Transportation Subcommittee on Transportation Funding
- f. Ways and Means Subcommittee on Property Tax Appraisals



Comptroller Releases Biennial Revenue Estimate

Prior to the start of the legislative session, Comptroller Glenn Hegar must release a biennial revenue estimate (BRE). The BRE is his best estimate of the amount of funds the legislature has available to spend for the next biennium. The Legislature will use this estimate while developing the budget during the legislative session. Comptroller Hegar estimates that the State will have a \$23.76 billion surplus, general revenue of \$176.43 billion, and \$194.60 billion available for spending. However, it is important to note that the Legislature cannot spend all the funds without voting to break the spending cap.

You can view the complete **BRE** here.





Supreme Court Rules in Favor of Operator in Royalty Case

TLMA filed an amicus brief in the *ConocoPhillips v. Kenneth Hahn* case regarding floating and fixed royalties for an NPRI owner in support of Mr. Hahn. The Court recently ruled in favor of ConocoPhillips.

You can view our amicus brief <u>here</u> and the opinion <u>here</u>. The remaining case documents can be found at this <u>link</u>.

The Oil and Gas Lawyer Blog also has a good write up on the case.



New Supreme Court Chief Justice Appointed

Chief Justice Nathan Hecht retired from the Texas Supreme Court at the end of December after serving on the Court since 1988. Governor Greg Abbott appointed Justice Jimmy Blacklock, a justice on the Supreme Court

since 2018, as Chief Justice. <u>Governor Abbott also</u> <u>appointed James P. Sullivan as the new Justice</u>. Justice Sullivan previously served as Governor Abbott's General Counsel.

Do you have a topic or issues you want to be included in the monthly newsletter? Please email it to info@tlma.org for review and potential inclusion.

Upcoming Dates of Interest

Wednesday, February 19 - RRC Open Meeting Friday, March 14 – 60th Day of Legislative Session and Final Day to File Bills

Additional Articles and Links

Do you need to update your contact information? Please email info@tlma.org for assistance.

Texas Legislature Online

Texas House Livestream

Texas Senate Livestream

Railroad Commission of Texas Livestream

TLMA Website

Texas Ag Law Blog

Oil and Gas Lawyer Blog

Contact Info:

Texas Land & Mineral Owners Association Jennifer Bremer Owen, Executive Director 512-479-5000 info@tlma.org This email was sent to execdir@tlma.org by info@tlma.org

Texas Land and Mineral Owners Association • 1005 Congress Ave., Suite 360, Austin, Texas 78701, United States • 512-479-5000

Remove My Email or Manage Preferences • Privacy Policy

powered by MemberClicks